NEW OMR Architects Logo
paige memorial library

From 1892 until 1905 the Hardwick Free Library and the Lucius Paige Collection were housed in the Hardwick High School. Fire forced the high school to relocate and in 1906 the building was reconstructed and re-dedicated as the Paige Memorial Library. Located at one end of an irregular Town Common, the brick and stone structure demonstrates the use of the Classical Revival style, popular in the late 19th and 20th centuries for municipal architecture. The existing building alone is too small to adequately meet the library’s program and collection.

OMR prepared an extended feasibility study that included the evaluation of two alternative sites; one at the existing library, the other at an iconic New England mill building. Both sites were intriguing and challenging. The preferred option, a nearly 12,000 square foot renovation and addition to the existing library reflects the Town’s values, historic legacy, and the library’s programmatic needs to serve the population of Hardwick for the next 20 years. The study is helping the Town prepare for a construction grant application to the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC).

“In August 2008, the Paige Memorial Library Building Committee began its search for an architectural firm to complete the planning and design phase for a feasibility study. The committee selected OMR Architects to complete the project based on their experience, design aesthetic and philosophy, and references from previous clients...the committee knew it had made the right selection as the OMR team was always prepared, responsive, and professional. Their guidance throughout this uncharted territory made our experience less daunting and ultimately exciting as our ideas were developed into our dream library.” --Sonja Craig, Chair, Library Director